top of page




At its 35th edition, this Prix can be considered the most significant cinematographic acknowledgement awarded by ICFT-UNESCO to the movie presented at the Venice International Film Festival best representing the values of peace and tolerance promoted by UNESCO.

It is dedicated to the memory of the late ICFT President Enrico Fulchignoni, a distinguished official of UNESCO who served as Responsible for Culture for a long time.

Fulchignoni was a director and a professor at the Sorbonne University.

He was a great promoter of Neorealism in cinema and of rising stars such as Michelangelo Antonioni. Tireless and intrepid launcher of initiatives, Fulchignoni established the Ouagadougou, Damascus, MIFED and Moscow Festivals, as well as the creation of the Escluela Internacional del Cine Latinoamericano in Cuba and many other events.

It is important to remember Venezia Genti, an official section of the Venice International Film Festival in the 1980s, dedicated to young authors, especially from emerging countries.

This Prix constitutes the ideal continuation of his work in this field. The winner of the Prix, who is awarded UNESCO’s “Medaglia Fellini”, is announced at the Festival during a dedicated press conference, whereas the awarding ceremony will take place at the UNESCO Headquarters in Paris.

Fellini medal



  • 1989  Un Petit Monastere en Toscane by Otar Ioselani

  • 1990  Couvre-Feu by Rachid Masarawi

  • 1991  Le cri du coeur by Idrissi Ouédraogo

  • 1992  Aguilas non cazan moscas by Sergio Cabrera

  • 1993  Kardiogramma by Darzhan Omirbaev

  • 1994  Small Wonders by Allen Miller

  • 1995  Kolonel Bunker by Kujtim Cashku

  • 1996  La strana storia della banda sonora by Francesca Archibugi

  • 1997  Civilisées by Randa Chahal Sabbag

  • 1998  Tsion, Auto-emancipatie by Amos Gitai

  • 1999  Roozi Key zan shodam by Marziyet Meshkini

  • 2000  Porto da minha infancia by Manuel de Oliveira

  • 2001  11 September by Various Authors

  • 2002  Kamur (Fango) by Dervish Zaim

  • 2003  Land of Plenty by Wim Wenders

  • 2004  La passione by Giosuè l’ebreo by Pasquale Scimeca

  • 2005  La Dignidad de los nadies by Fernando Solanas

  • 2006  Daratt by Mahamat-Saleh Haroun

  • 2007  Corti del cinema marocchino by Various Authors

  • 2008  Birdwatchers by Marco Bechis

  • 2009  The Traveller by Ahmed Maher

  • 2010  Miral by Julian Schnabel

  • 2011  Tahrir 2011 by Various Authors

  • 2012  L’intervalllo by Leonardo di Costanzo

  • 2013  At Berkleley by Frederick Wiseman

  • 2014  Inocente by Dave Lee

  • 2015  Beasts of no nation by Cary Fukunaga

  • 2016  Hotel Salvation by Shubhashish Bhutiani

  • 2017  Human Flow by Ai Weiwei

  • 2018  El Pepe, Una Vida Suprema by Emir Kusturica

  • 2019  45 seconds of laughter by Tim Robbins

  • 2020  Horshid by M. Majid and Scherza con I fanti by Gianfranco Pannone

  • 2021 AMIRA by Mohamed Diab

  • 2022 Nuclear by Oliver Stone

  • 2023 Io capitano by Matteo Garrone

35th CICT-UNESCO "Enrico Fulchignoni" Award

At its 35th edition, the CICT UNESCO “Enrico Fulchignoni” Award can be considered the most significant cinematographic acknowledgement awarded by the Conseil International du Cinéma et de la Télévision CICT ICFT at UNESCO to the movie presented at the Venice International Film Festival best embodying the values of peace, tolerance and inclusion promoted by UNESCO. This year, the winner of the award will be announced during an exclusive ceremony at Villa degli Autori in Venice Lido on September 8, 2023, as conclusion to the 25th Euromediterranean Conference on Cinema “Platforms and AI: the rise of global cinema?”.

The jury, composed by Pierpaolo Saporito, President of OCCAM and President a.i. of CICT ICFT UNESCO, Jasmina Boijc, Director of the United Nations Association Film Festival (UNAFF) and Stanford University’s Professor, Giacomo Mazzone, Secretary-General of Eurovisioni, Tiziana Maria Di Blasio, Professor at Pontificia Università Gregoriana, and Alessandro Mandelli, Founder of Serially, is honored to announce that the winner of the 35th CICT UNESCO “Enrico Fulchignoni” Award at the 80th Venice International Film Festival is:


 by Matteo Garrone

With the following motivation:
For the originality of a counterview from Africa to Europe along the Mediterranean route embodied in writing pervaded with authentic testimonies of migrants while being transfigured in the pictorial-photographic formal elegance of a style freed from stereotypes and rhetoric. Matteo Garrone with Io Capitano admirably fosters undeniable principles such as the protection of human rights, the fight against social and cultural marginalization, solidarity and care for human beings, in an itinerary of hope toward other possible future opportunities for the new generations.


We are therefore honoured to declare Director Matteo Garrone the winner of the 35th CICT UNESCO “Enrico Fulchignoni” Award for the outstanding work of Io Capitano, with the conferral of the UNESCO Fellini Medal to the Delegate Nicola Claudio, President and Director of Rai Cinema. 


bottom of page